Monat Revive Shampoo Review

This post may contain "affiliate links." This means if you click on the affiliate link and purchase the item, I'll receive a commission. I disclose this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255. I only recommend products that passed my strict criteria. Read about my research methods in the Start Here page.

Last updated on August 2nd, 2018

Monat Revive Shampoo ReviewFirst of all, Monat Revive Shampoo has the longest list of ingredients I have ever seen in my experience reading shampoo ingredients almost daily for the past 5 years.

 

Here we go:

 

Monat Review Shampoo Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Lauramidopropyl Betaine, Sodium C14-16 Olefin Sulfonate, Acrylates Copolymer, Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate, Sodium Cocoamphoacetate, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Cinnamidopropyltrimonium Chloride, Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl Decylglucosides Chloride, Polyquaternium-11, Pisum Sativum (Pea) Extract, Acetyl Tetrapeptide-3, Trifolium Pratense (Clover) Flower Extract, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Crambe Abyssinica Seed Oil, Camellia Oleifera Seed Oil, Solanum Lycopersicum (Tomato) Seed Oil, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Seed Oil, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Peel Oil, Citrus Aurantifolia (Lime) Oil, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Adansonia Digitata Oil, Mauritia Flexuosa Fruit Oil, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Gardenia Tahitensis Flower Extract, Moringa Oleifera Seed Oil, Caryocar Brasiliense Fruit Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Glycerin, Tocopherol, Dextran, Citric Acid, Propanediol, Glycol Distearate, Cocamidopropyl Hydroxysultaine, Sodium Hydroxypropylphosphate Decylglucoside Crosspolymer, Lauramide MIPA,Sodium Hydroxypropylphosphate Laurylglucoside Crosspolymer, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Butylene Glycol, Propoxytetramethyl Piperdinyl Dimethicone, Trideceth-6, Centrimonium Chloride, Aminomethyl Propanol, Fragrance (Parfum), C11-15 Pareth-7, Phenethyl Alcohol, Undecyl Alcohol, Benzyl Alcohol

 

Source: http://monatglobal.com/revive-shampoo/

 

Second, you will probably read lots of enthusiastic reviews for the Monat Revive shampoo. I could have been paid very lucrative commissions, too, for promoting Monat’s expensive products but after reading each ingredient, I decided that Monat products, including the Monat Revive shampoo, do not adhere to my standards.

 

Monat Revive shampoo is also probably the shampoo with the highest price tag I have seen.

 

Monat claims its shampoo “Penetrates and supports the scalp while helping boost natural hair growth and improving follicle strength to assist in reducing hair thinning.”  Source: https://corp.mymonat.com/shop/products/revive-shampoo

 

In this post, let’s focus on the ingredients underlined in red and how this shampoo might give you a look of thicker hair.

 

Allergens in the Monat Revive Shampoo

 

There are two ingredients – Cocamidopropyl Betaine and Benzyl Alcohol – that are associated with contact allergy. Typical symptoms of a contact allergy (its clinical manifestation is allergic contact dermatitis) includes redness, swelling, itching, and fluid-filled blisters, which are more severe symptoms than the symptoms of irritation.

 

Also, the difference between an irritant and an allergen is that an allergen (aka sensitizer) causes the allergic contact dermatitis after repeated contact with the allergen over time. So if you used the Monat Revive shampoo once and did not experience any symptoms, there is no guarantee that you won’t have a reaction sometime later.

 

Cocamidopropyl Betaine

 

Cocamidopropyl Betaine is a surfactant that makes a shampoo lather. It is commonly used in so-called “natural” shampoos as a better alternative to SLS (sodium lauryl sulfate) or SLES (sodium laureth sulfate). The proponents of Cocamidopropyl Betaine (CAPB) claim it is safe, based on the fact it is derived from coconut oil.

 

I encourage you not to fall prey to this marketing technique and read what the medical branch of Dermatology has found in its research.

 

Yes, CAPB is manufactured by reacting coconut fatty acids with 3-dimethylaminoproplylamine (DMAPA) to produce amidoamine, which is then combined with monochloroacetic acid to get to CAPB (source). It does not sound like CAPB is a natural ingredient to me. Does it sound natural to you?

 

That fact that coconut oil is used to make CAPB becomes irrelevant, in my mind, when we learn that some amounts of the two chemicals DMAPA and amidoamine remain in CAPB. Commercial-grade CAPB can contain up to 3.0% amidoamine and up to 0.02% DMAPA (source).

The personal care products trade association itself tells us that both DMAPA and amidoamine are known skin allergens. (source)

 

The first reports of allergy to CAPB were published in 1983. The first two case reports were women with red lesions, which cleared after they stopped using their shampoos with CAPB.

 

After that, many cases have been reported in association with shampoos, liquid soaps, bath gels, toothpaste, contact lens solutions, make-up removers, and hygiene products, with a range of incidence between 3% to 7.2% (source).

 

In fact, American Contact Dermatitis Society named CAPB the 2004 Allergen of the Year (source).

 

And lastly, in the Environment Canada Substance List, CAPB is marked as being toxic to aquatic life.

 

Benzyl Alcohol

 

True, benzyl alcohol is an aromatic alcohol found in many naturally occurring plant products such as balsam of Peru. It is also a naturally occurring component of essential oils such as hyacinth, jasmine, and ylang-ylang oils and even of foods such as apricots, cranberries, cocoa, honey, mushrooms, and snap peas. However, when used in products, it is synthesized in labs by reacting benzyl chloride with sodium hydroxide (source).

 

In personal care products, it is often used as a preservative.

 

The Cosmetic Ingredient Review (CIR) has concluded that it is safe for use in cosmetic products, at concentrations of up to 5 percent, and up to 10 percent in hair dyes. (source)

 

However, in the European Union, benzyl alcohol is allowed as a preservative in cosmetics and personal care products at a maximum concentration of 1%. (source)

 

It is restricted because it may cause an allergic reaction. While it is rated higher (worse) (at 5 out of 10 being most toxic) in the Skin Deep database than CAPB (4 out of 10), according to the American Contact Dermatitis Society, it is recognized as a “weak” sensitizer. The American Contact Dermatitis society states that an allergic reaction to it is rare and a Belgian patch-test of 8,521 patients revealed that only 25 (0.3%) people had a positive reaction. (source)

 

I do not have any information as to what concentrations of benzyl alcohol is used in the Monat Revive shampoo.

 

While an allergic reaction is rare, the American Contact Dermatitis Society encourages to use caution. (source)

 

Fragrance in the Monat Revive Shampoo

 

Fragrances are normally undisclosed mixtures of a long list of various chemicals. The FDA does not require companies to disclose the ingredients of fragrances. On my blog, I recommend products made by companies that value transparency. Thus, I recommend products that have only natural scents that come from essential oils and/or plant extracts and oils. Fragrances have been associated with allergies, dermatitis, respiratory distress and potential effects on the reproductive system. They are rated 8 out 10 (10 being the most toxic) in the Skin Deep database.

 

Ethoxylated Ingredients in the Monat Revive Shampoo

 

There are two ingredients – Trideceth-6 and C11-15 Pareth-7 – that are made with a process called ethoxylation. What are the problems with this process? To begin with, most manufacturers use harsh petrochemical raw materials. To make them less irritating to the skin, ethoxylation is used in which ethylene oxide is added. As a result, traces of un-reacted ethylene oxide might be left in the final product. Moreover, 1,4-dioxane gets created during the ethoxylation process. Unless a manufacturer uses the vacuum-stripping method to get rid of 1,4-dioxane, the dangerous chemical can remain in the shampoo.

 

The International Agency for Research on Cancer has classified ethylene oxide as “carcinogenic to humans” and 1,4-dioxane as “probably carcinogenic to humans.” “Probably carcinogenic to humans” is defined by stating that “there is limited evidence of carcinogenicity in humans and sufficient evidence of carcinogenicity in experimental animals.”

 

For a full list of ethoxylated ingredients in personal care products and how to spot them, visit here.

 

Even if the company makes sure that there is no 1,4-dioxane left in the Monat Revive Shampoo, I am not very enthusiastic about ingredients the manufacturing process of which includes two carcinogens.

 

On my blog, I do not recommend products with ethoxylated ingredients.

 

Does the Monat Revive Shampoo make your hair thicker?

 

I am not familiar with any independent studies illustrating that by using a shampoo you can increase hair growth, or make hair thicker and stronger. Keep in mind that contact with shampoo is short and relatively infrequent. I had a hair-thinning problem and took the time to look for any independent studies on this subject. (Please visit here to find out how I solved my hair-thinning problem and what you can do today.)  But my point is that I was unable to find any scientific studies proving that hair does get thicker by using shampoo.

 

On the other hand, I noticed that there are quite a few ingredients that I believe coat the hair, which I assume would make the hair look and feel thicker.

 

Here are the ingredients that may coat the hair:

 

Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride

Cinnamidopropyltrimonium Chloride

Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl Decylglucosides Chloride

Acrylates Copolymer

Sodium Hydroxypropylphosphate Laurylglucoside Crosspolymer

Propoxytetramethyl Piperdinyl Dimethicone

Centrimonium Chloride

 

I have not seen so many coating agents in one single shampoo including even Acrylates Copolymer that I normally see in nail polish as a film former and in hair sprays as a hair fixer.

 

So what do you think? Do you think it is worth $35 for 8 oz? Let me know in the comments. I personally would not use this shampoo even if they send it to me for free.

 

And last but not least, please visit Better Business Bureau to read numerous complaints about Monat products and their customer services. Update as of March 3, 2018:  I noticed that all complaints had been deleted from the BBB website.  I am unable to reach BBB to ask as to why the comments were removed.

SaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

Your Superpower To Read Ingredients

Hair color ecourse 1

Imagine picking up any shampoo, conditioner, lotion, cream, or liquid foundation and in a matter of seconds being able to decide if you need to put it back on the shelf.

With this easy method, you will be able to spot potentially harmful personal care or skincare products that may cause irritation, an allergic reaction, or increase the risk of endocrine disruption or cancer.

We won't send you spam. Unsubscribe at any time. Powered by ConvertKit

103 Responses

  1. Salsadancer

    Irina, I am very interested in your hair-thinning problem and solution. I am using minoxidil.

      • Salsadancer

        I have been using minoxidil for 2-3 years. It does stop the fall-out and stimulates some but not complete re-growth, but only as long as you keep using it. I use it twice a day, as recommended, but if I skip now and then, it’s not a big deal as long as I get right back on the routine. I have heard the complaint that it causes dandruff but I believe that the white flakes are a result of using too much resulting in it collecting on the scalp and chipping off. The simple solution to that is to not apply too much.

        I have taken all the recommended vitamins for thinning hair — biotin, folic acid, fish oil, etc. — for at least 3-4 years and still do. I cannot say that this has helped but it hasn’t hurt so I continue taking them.

          • Salsadancer

            Yes, as a matter of fact, I had a long discussion and lesson with my doctor about the thyroid and pituitary glands, TSH, and T3 and T4 just this week! He, at least, is certain that is not the source of my problem.

      • rose

        i just bought my first 400ml 2 weeks ago. it is really really expensive . it does feel well and my kids who are swimmers like how it wash chlorine out… but i am not sure that price justifies it.

        • Irina Webb

          Thank you, Rose. I will take a look at it if there are many people interested in it. Have you used on your hair? What do you think? ~Irina

          • Rose

            I used it since October and really like it. simple one step and leaves hair clean and feeling great. I have tried Hairprint chelating shampoo for last 2 washes as I do use their hairprint and need to prepare the hair. As per your suggestion i also bought other types to try.. so far i really feel the difference in hair and washing quality with New wash winning by performance, but loosing by price.

      • Sharon

        I do use it and like it. even though it’s not the most non-toxic option out there. I have thick curly hair and need a conditioner (which this basically is) that is really moisturizing and emollient to cut through my tangles. Even though there are some ingredients that I don’t love, from my email exchanges with the company, I know that it is at least paraben and phthalate free, but I’d love your thoughts on the ingredients as well. Thanks Irina for all that you do!

  2. Helga

    Hi Irina, I would definitely like to hear about how you got a handle on your hair thinning/falling out??
    As goes for shampoos I use Aubrey Organics Green tea shampoo, especially in the summer because Green tea is naturally sun protective…. I HOPE that their ingredients are OK!!! Do you know?

  3. Margaret

    Hello Irina,
    Thank you for all you do!
    My hair has been thinning for several years now. I am 52 and have very little hair on the top of my head. I used Minoxidil for several years and it did seem to help some. I stopped a year or so ago. I have had my thyroid panel done and it is normal (with some borderline normal results). I am on Estrogen and progesterone HRT and have taken vitamins for years. My iron level is normal. I was told by my hairdresser that Nioxin has helped to grow hair in some of her clients. I am currently using Everyday Shea Shampoo by Alaffia. My dermatologist has not helped. I feel desperate. Did you really notice new hair growth using Hairprint shampoo?
    Margaret

    • Irina Webb

      Thank you, Margaret. I am sorry to hear about your difficulties. I will be working on that blog post as soon as I can. ~Irina

  4. Dorothy

    Hi Irina,
    Thanks for the interesting article.
    I was curious about how you solved your hair thinning problem too. Was it to do with a thyroid problem?

  5. Theresa

    Excellent information from your research. Thank you very much. My hair has been dropping out like crazy from the roots, so I’m searching for solutions. There are lots of “success stories and photos” on the Monat website. Very tempting, but expensive. Is there a safe shampoo/conditioner that is known to help with hair growth, one that people brag about? Looking forward to more of this as I get to know your web site.

    • Irina Webb

      Hi, Theresa: I do not believe there is a shampoo/conditioner that can prevent hair loss. You would need massaging something into scalp for a longer period of time and probably a few times day. Even with medicated treatments, I hear people get only a temporary relief. I suggest looking into the root cause of your hair loss. With this said, if you are looking for a shampoo/conditioner/treatment for hair loss without concerning ingredients, you can check out the Intelligent Nutrient system for thinning hair. Let me know how you like it, if you try it. Thanks! ~Irina

  6. Lia

    Just curious why you didn’t cover the ingredient Acetyle Tetrapedptide-3 which is the ingredient in the shampoos and conditioners that has studies in the hair care industry that result in hair growth? It’s included in the diary of Monat hair ingredients, but it was not created by them. They took this ingredient and added it to their formulas for hair growth after researching the ingredients on the market. Studies done by Lucas Meyer Cosmetics and there are other companies using this ingredient with their formulations for hair growth as well.

    http://www.redenhair.com/img/cms/CAPIXYL-Techfile.pdf

    • Lia

      I also wanted to point out that Sodium Hydroxypropylphosphate Laurylglucoside Crosspolymer and Sodium Hydroxypropylphosphate Decylglucoside Crosspolymer are BOTH SURFACTANTS which means they ingredients that are used to remove and cleanse the hair not coat it.

      • Irina Webb

        Thank you for the pointing this out. I will correct that. Although they may still coat the hair because they are polymers, which normally refers to plastic or large molecules. Thanks. ~Irina

    • Irina Webb

      Hi, Lia: The reason I did not cover Acetyl Tetrapeptide-3 is that I had not found any independent studies that it actually works. Are you a Monat’s sales rep? ~Irina

  7. Lia

    Did you read the studies by Lucas Meyers? Or this one http://geosmatic.com/ProductClinicalReferences/A_PRP_ANewStrategyToModulateAlopeciaUsingACombination.pdf
    Its actually an ingredient that’s being used as an alternative to the chemical based hair growth products in European countries and studies. So it’s interesting that MONAT is the only one getting noted for it here in the states.
    I am a rep with the company and as such have spent my time looking into ingredients, benefits, downsides, etc especially in the curly world.
    I also find it a bit miss leading to mention that there are a LOT of ingredients when 1 of the clusters is actually the blend of oil signature product.
    I’m glad you’ve taken the time to highlight some of the ingredients, since a lot of people aren’t even that aware of what they are using but at the same time it is important to walk objectively through label reading, if that is what we are doing right?
    Cheers

  8. Robyn

    Thanks for your informative review. I used monat for months, what a huge mistake, my hair is ruined.

    • Sarah

      That stinks you didn’t get the results you wanted. I have been using Monat for months, my hair has NEVER been better and absolutely love the results I’m having. My hair is softer, shinier, doesn’t take as long to blow dry, straighten or curl.

  9. Brandy Niccum

    I’m interested in knowing how you solved your problem of thinning hair. Thank you!

  10. Myna

    Can u tell me – does the Monat shampoo and conditioner take the dye (colour) out af a persons hair – since I’ve been using the product my colour doesn’t seem to last at all. Also after 6.5 months my hair seems to be tho Ming out again on the top of my head – – damn!!!

    • lia

      Myna
      Monat doesnt remove color from the hair but it removes product buildup and any other particles that attatch to your hair that color often attaches to. Kind of like clear tape thats covering your hand, if you put marker in the clear tape it looks like yoy colored your hand but when the tape is removed so is the color…this is whats happening with hair.
      Chat with your market partner…there are many stylist who’ve covered this observation.
      As for thining, there are a few things that could be involved here as well,normal hair shedding cycl, not properly runsing, if you’ve changed your shampoo of choice that can also make a difference.

  11. Angela Broach

    I’ve been using MONAT for 8 months and to start out my hair was horrible but after 8 months of using MONAT my hair is like brand new like it was in my teens. Long thick and shiney. Never been happier with a product.

  12. Margaret

    I know this may not be the proper place to ask this question…. but I am looking for a low toxin hair mousse that does not have alcohol in it. I bought a very expensive one from Intelligent Nutrients that was one of the best rated on EWG website but it has alcohol in it. My hair and scalp are already extremely dry so I don’t want to use it. Does anyone have any suggestions ?

    • Irina Webb

      I will keep an eye for a low toxin alcohol-free hair mousse for you, too. Let us know if you find one, too. Thank you, Margaret! ~Irina

    • Irina Webb

      Yes, I added this link a few days earlier. There are so many complaints about people losing hair and unable to cancel their Monat subscriptions. ~Irina

  13. Jiil

    I am interested in knowing how you fixed your hair thinking problem as well!! I’m not even 30 yet and have been losing more and more hair as time goes on. I cannot even run my fingers through my hair anymore without my hand being full of stray hairs by the time I get to the ends of my hair. I have a very limited income so I don’t have the “extra” money available to spend on pricey products so unfortunately I have not tried anything for the problem but have tried to do tons of research so I could find a solution but (I probably wasn’t putting in the right keywords in Google search or something because) I wasn’t able to find very much information towards the subject. Thank u so much for ur help!!£

    • Irina Webb

      Hi, Jill: I totally get it. I do not have money to spend on expensive products either. I am so sorry to hear about your hair loss. You are too young for that! I will do my best to write a post about hair color this month. Please make sure that you are subscribed to my blog to receive my Wednesday’s email: https://ireadlabelsforyou.com/subscribe/. Have you checked your thyroid as hypothyroidism can be one of the reasons for hair loss? Please keep in touch! ~Irina

  14. Ruby

    Hi, My hair is thinning especially on top,I have a thyroid problem and am taking Levothyroxine 0.088mg I also color my hair= could this be part of the problem? I would be very interested in how you solved your hair thinning problem. Thanks

    • Irina Webb

      Hi Ruby, hypothyroidism and using chemical hair colors could be definitely part of the problem. Thank you for your comment. I will be working on the post soon. ~Irina

    • Kelli Ann

      Hi! Please look into using Armour thyroid instead of synthetic thyroid. I was a mess on levothroid and synthesis I started armour 5 years ago and I feel n look much better. I have found that men do better on synthetics. My father and son both have hashis as well.

  15. Julie Eckhardt

    Thank you Irina! I almost got sold- and I’m a hairstylist! I do have many clients with thinning hair. Ill check out the brands you suggested above. I have always told me clients that hair loss cause comes from within the body, and the only fda approved topical ingredient is monoxidil, which I don’t reccommend. Is that correct?

    • Irina Webb

      I know, marketing has a power of persuasion. Yes, we should look into the causes of hair loss and treat those. You are right about minoxidil. Saw Palmetto might have some mild properties to inhibit DHT. ~Irina

  16. Lisa

    Thank you for this post. I’m a hairstylist and I have been getting pressure to buy into Monat. I don’t trust MLM’s and so I have been looking for some honest reviews on it. I feel like this was a very honest non biased review and it gives me some information that I can use against the people pressuring me. Thank you!

  17. Pat

    I have been researching this brand extensively, and am wondering about Capixyl. I am being told by reps that this ingredient blocks DHT (dihydrotestosterone), which is what stops hair loss/thinning. When I dug into it, I learned that what it’s really doing is inhibiting 5-alpha-reductase, which forms DHT. When I dug into what 5-alpha-reductase inhibitors do, and the potential side effects, I am wondering – is this product essentially a hormone blocker? If so, I would think it would be a poor choice for men, women who are estrogen-dominant, or pregnant women. The other thing I have learned is that when you stop using this ingredient your hair goes back to the way it was. I am not a scientist or a researcher, just someone who tries hard to buy safe products, which is why I am posting here, hoping to get your opinion on this. thank you.

  18. Kate

    Hi Irina, What shampoo do you recommend for those with sensitive scalps? Do you have a list of shampoos without the 2 allergens as mentioned above?
    Thanks.

  19. Sherry H

    Hello,
    Went to the doctor yesterday for what I thought was pink eye and blistering itchy hives all over my scalp, forehead, and left eye and my eyeball is red (where I sweep my bangs over). Doctor asked me what shampoo I used. Monat I answered. She said I am her second patient that has come in to see her with this. I told her I have been using Monat for years. The other patient had too. For the other patient they tried everything to stop the blistering hives, all kinds of treatments for weeks. Nothing worked until they troubleshooted different products she used. When she stopped using Monat, her hives stopped. I really loved Monat until this happened.
    If there was a way I could upload a picture I would.

    • RobinM

      Sherry H,

      I have been using Monat Shampoo for 3 months. The first month, I used Revive and I liked it for the first couple weeks and then my head started itching and I had a patch under my left eyebrow. So I called Monat and the rep suggested trying the Renew Shampoo so I tried that and used it for a month and then developed more itching, dandruff and red patches. I talked to my market partner and she said , “what color is the shampoo, clear or white?” I said, the first one was clear and the current one is white. She says, “that’s the problem, call Monat” I emailed them and with no questions asked they sent me a new shampoo and masque for my hair. I went back to using Revive and then realized I must be allergic because I was miserable with itching and burning scalp and a rash to my chest, neck and arms. I stopped using it all together and am feeling betrer. I too am disappointed because I liked the shampoo in the beginning and now I’m out $300 and have all of this product that I can’t use. 🙁

      • Tammy

        I’ve been using Monat for over a year and have loved it until a few weeks ago. My scalp suddenly started itching like crazy and now have a few sores started from scratching also my back keeps getting a rash for a couple of months now and I’m now thinking it could be from the Monat products. This morning I used another brand shampoo and conditioner it is still itching and hurts in spots but no ways as bad as before. I am going to discontinue use and hope it clears up. Disappointed also because I loved the product and my hair was looking better.

        • Katie

          I found this website when googling “I am allergic to Monat”. I had been using it for 6 months and loved. And I developed an itchy scalp all the time, which turned to dandruff. I thought it was in relation to some stress I was going through in life. It eventually turned to blistering sores. It was embarrassing to be itching in public all the time, and gross to have those sores on my scalp. It took almost 3 months to heal (without treatment from a doctor or anything, I thought it was stress related). So I went back to using the Monat products. Two days back to using Monat and my face and scalp itched like crazy, so I stopped using and am still waiting for my scalp to heal again. I’m sorry others have had a reaction too, but glad to know I’m not alone. Reading the description about the allergens and how they aggravate after repeated contact with the allergen explained my situation perfectly.

  20. Jessica Blackmon

    Are the ingredients underlined in colors that coordinate with the EWG database?

    • Irina Webb

      Hi, Jessica: I am not certain what you mean. The post discusses the ingredients and cross-indexes them with the EWG Skin Deep database. Please see the post for further clarification. The colors are simply a visual shorthand for those ingredients that are, in my opinion, safe, of some concern, and of great concern. ~Irina

      • Jessica Blackmon

        That answers my question perfectly thank you! I just noticed on EWG that some of the ingredients underlined in red were actually green. Or vice versa so I was wondering why – but I see it’s your opinion not a direct link to what they say! Was just curious thanks.

        • Irina Webb

          Keep in mind that if a chemical has no safety data, it is rated 1 and appears green in the EWG database. ~Irina

  21. Jessica Blackmon

    Yep I know that. But no safety data doesn’t necessarily mean it’s bad either. There are so many things to be considered when weighing whether something is safe or not. Concentration, amount, form, type of exposure etc. I’ve done some very thorough research on most of the ingredients in this list as well.

    • Irina Webb

      Yes, you are absolutely right. Wow, you have been doing very thorough research. Another thing I consider when an ingredient is not so good if there are better alternatives available. ~Irina

  22. Loriann Deangelis

    Hello, I had a horrible experience with Tints of Nature Hair Colour. I have used over the counter dyes for over 15 years and never had a reaction. I thought this was organic and I bought it on a whim in the local health food store believing it was this premium product and why not ” I work hard I’m worth it attitude. I used it once October 2016, had a little tingle but thought nothing of it as they use different oils and thought maybe rosemary or peppermint. I used again January 2017 and did not have any indication of any sort of reaction or problem. Life as usual. I had never heard of hair dye reactions before this. Within approximately 2 weeks I became deathly ill with severe flu like symptoms, went to my doctor was prescribed antibiotics and sent home. Within the next week my head was on fire and my hair started coming out in chunks. I couldn’t for the life of me figure out what was going on and frantically ran from doctor to doctor, back and forth from health food store to health food store looking for relief and answers. No one had any. It was a total nightmare and by the end of 8 weeks I had lost most of my hair and was in excruciating pain. The hair kept falling out for over 5 months. My body went into total shock, I think I was walking dead. My eyes even had lightning bolts, vision blurred, ringing ears, fever, sweats and my head was zinging. Even the hair stopped growing on my body. After many emails to Organic Colouring Systems and many doctor visits who kept sending me home I finally got a reply from Tints of Nature and the director scheduled a call with me. He offered The REP Hair Follicle strengthening System Free to grow my hair back. I was almost bald and had sent them many photo’s over the months. I tried it for 3 months , a strict regiment, everyday with hopes my hair would sprout and follicles would produce. Long story short it’s now been 13 months and I still have a sore scalp and my hair is damaged and so very very thin. I have had months of steroid injections and now I finally gave in to Minoxidil. I am scared to death but doctors are so in tier own world and really have no clue how bad this effected my health. One trip to Vitamin cottage changed my life. I use to use chopsticks on top of my head and now I use a little baby clip. I wonder if the Red Clove or Capixl had anything to do with it not growing and continued hair loss? There is a lot of talk about the ingredients in Monet and I find them similar. I would share photo’s as it was horrifying…especially not having a clue to what was going on. The last Doctor said I would have never reacted to a 24 hour patch test because my reaction was delayed by weeks. He said there must have been high amounts of PPD or another chemical that cause such damage. I am sick over this and now worried about this product I was lead to believe would heal me and grow my hair, so being trustworthy I tried it. Do you know if they are the same ingredients Monet and REP-HAIR? I can’t figure out why I still suffer and have grass hair.

    • Irina Webb

      Hi, Loriann: I am so sorry to hear that. There are a few Monat sale reps on this forum and they will probably tell go ahead and use their Monat products. I highly recommend avoiding them or any other shampoo/conditioners with ingredients that potentially may cause an allergic reaction, at least for now, at least until you do a test and find out what chemicals you are allergic to. I highly recommend to use as little as possible on your scalp and let it heal. Even something benign can make it worse. I know some people are even allergic to coconut oil. In my opinion, there are no miracle topical products that grow hair. You need to work with your doctor to heal your immune system and take some vitamins/supplements that strengthen your hair growth from within. Let me know if you have any questions. ~irina

  23. Maggie

    Hi and thank you so much for this review! I have always had curly hair and over the last year It has turned very straight , I’ve read that your hair texture changes over the years but I was wondering if you had a recommendation for a shampoo that’s comparable or I guess I should say better than Monet products , ive never tried Monet because I feel that its overpriced but would love to find a natural product that could bring my curl back . Thanks so much in advance 🙂 Maggie

  24. Emmy

    I wish I would have found your article sooner. I used Monat for 6 weeks. I’m sure it works for some people, but it only made my hair look stringy, my scalp itched all the time and my hair would fall out in clumps. I quit using it 4 days ago and wouldn’t you know it, my hair stopped falling out… weird coincidence? Either way, I’m done with their products.

  25. Kim

    Is the Revive the only Monat shampoo with the harmful ingredient? I had been using the IRT shampoo for several months along with the Smoothing shampoo (which is not in their regular line) and never had a problem. I started using the Revive shampoo several weeks ago and my scalp has started itching over the past two weeks. Does Monat’s other shampoos have the same ingredients that cause this itching and hair loss?

  26. karen holbrooks

    I have lost over half of my hair ….my head burns all the time with small periods of relief ? I stopped using this product 7-8 weeks ago and only used 6 times …My hair continues to fall out …Nothing is helping …This is new information for me .I hope I can find an answer before I am completely bald .Thank you .Thank you a thousand times !!!!

  27. Delphine

    Thank you for all answering my worries so clearly. I was asked to try this ‘natural’ product and, while it seemed very nice, I found the list of ingredients impossible to understand. I can now see why it rang alarm bells. I am VERY anti palm oil products and do not think my hair condition is worth the life of an orangutan.
    Gratefully yours
    Delphine

  28. Cheri

    I have thinning hair due to thyroid issues. I have found that using a natural shampoo and conditioner that gets and keeps your scalp healthy will help to regenerate growth because your hair follicles are not plugged up from different products. I use 100% Pure Honey & Coconut Shampoo and Conditioner and have noticed new growth. My scalp no longer is itchy and my hair is soft and shiny. The health of your scalp can make a huge difference.

  29. Kait

    Irina Great article review, thanks. Yes, I’m a little bias since I use Monat and it works really well for my hair, but I think it’s a little unfair to call out the price when it should be compared to other salon level products. I used to use “all natural brand” Oribe commonly found at salons near me which was almost $50 for the same size bottle.

  30. Kyrie Anderson

    Let me start off by saying, I used the products for a year and did enjoy how my hair responded. However, do to the overpricing of each product- I decided to cancel my VIP membership. When I could not find the “disenroll” option on my page, I emailed support. This is where I choose to NEVER speak highly of Monat and will never consider becoming a member in the future. I was told in order to cancel my membership I will need to pay a $19 or $25 CANCELLATION fee. This is due to not having 3 flex shipments of $84 each. Now, let me put this into perspective for you. In my year with Monat, I spent a total of $406.81. The total with 3 shipments of only $84 is $252. Since I had one shipment that was only $77.40 and the others only $64 (with my initial order being $109) I do not qualify and MUST pay this cancellation fee. Beware, this company is a money scam! The products are NOT worth the price and the company has added ADDITIONAL costs since I joined. Save yourself the trouble and order from respectable companies who are honest, have great products and require NO membership or hidden cancellation fees.

  31. Taylor Henry

    I got sucker into being a Market Partner (MP) for monat without even trying to products, its seemed to make more sense to be somehow.. with signing up with the VIP i was going to end up spending the same amount as going into a MP within a year (refer to Kyrie post above and youll see the scam in the VIP/flexship)

    you have 30 days to return the products for a full refund, so i went ahead they warn you of a detox and it should ‘only’ a week or so, I have always gotten my products from salons so ive always used quality hair products and MY GOD was it awful… I have full long hair, and it make it so sticky and frizzy and actually crunchy. I lost the natural waves in my hair whenever i was using it and it actually made my hair greasier and i had to wash it daily, i normally go 3-4 days without washing it prior… bottom line was i hate hate hated the products and its a huge scam.. I did get my money back however, but the customer service is awful and dont speak english

    MP will tell you monat never lost a court case, HA dont let that fool you, they probably settle so they dont even have to go to court, they have an excelling PR/marketing team that hides their dirty work.

    • Jen

      When I first tried this product I was told detox would be a month depending on how much build up needed to come out of your hair.. so you were misinformed about detox … secondly if you received your money back just as their guarantee states then it clearly isn’t a scam my friend… I’ve been a customer for over a year , no complaints ! I’ll keeping buying this product , even though it appears more pricy , just as the rep told me it does last a long time , my current bottle I’ve been using for 5 months. So actually cheaper then most brands. And from my understanding the way vip works is that you get a cheaper price by commiting to future orders, but it’s optional you can pay full retail price and not commit, which is what I initially did.

  32. Leah

    I’ll just say it out right. I’m a Monat Market Partner.

    I really appreciate what you are doing on your website. I’m grateful for the factual parts in this post. I’m excited to look into those things more extensively myself to become more familiar with the ingredients that you define as toxic.

    There are other things in this post that I’m having difficulty reconciling.
    1. I don’t understand why you are going on and on about the price. I noticed that someone in the comments asked you for a recommendation for a product that grows hair. Your link took me directly to Amazon and the price of the 8oz bottle is $41. That’s more than the cost of Revive… I’m confused. Can you clarify?

    2. “Long Ingredient List” – Did you make that comment because less ingredients is a sign of a healthier product? If so, I agree. Although, with Monat products 13 of the ingredients are the list of essential oils that make up Rejuvenique Oil. Maybe it would behoove Monat to qualify that in the ingredients by writing Rejuvenique Oil with the 13 oils in parentheses? Would that make the ingredients easier to understand?

    3. Monat prelaunched in the UK in February. None of Monat’s products were reformulated to meet European standards. This a should answer the Benzyl Alcohol question. Revive contains 1% or less of that ingredient.

    4. I agree that the fragrance ingredient is a problem but not all Monat products contain fragrance. I’m curious, have you called Monat to ask for the fragrance ingredients?

    5. Would you be willing to respond with a list of companies you earn commissions from?

    6. Rejuvenique Oil – there a few rare essential oils in this mix a couple of them are ancient and do themselves aid in hair regrowth and one helps anchor the hair more firmly into the hair follicle. A couple of the oils cause the new hairs to regrow thicker. They don’t thicken the hair that’s already grown and on the head.

    7. When someone asked about Miloxidyl in the comments why didn’t you immediately explain that it’s a pharmacudical drug? It’s incredibly toxic. This is the active ingredient in Nioxin, yet you did not hit this ingredient or product with such vim and vigor that you hit Monat.

    8. The reason the comments and reviews were removed from the BBB website was because a federal court in Florida ruled the ones removed to be fallacious or fictitious.

    I have more things that I want to understand where you were coming from but am going to leave at this because it’s 2am and I’m tired. 😉

    • Irina Webb

      Hi, Leah! Here is where I am coming from. I was contacted by Monat and was informed that their market partners are paid 30% commissions, and I could be one of them. I looked at the ingredients and decided that their products do not adhere to my standards; thus, I decided to forgo the potential income. Then, many of blog readers and clients asked what I thought about Monat; hence, I wrote this post to help them make informed decisions. In a meantime, I like and recommend other shampoos/conditioners and some of them such as Body Deli do not pay me any commissions. I know that people driven by money may have a hard time understanding this, and they may continue wasting their time looking for my ulterior motive, which does not exist. The truth is simple I am honest and I have my standards. You might be interested in learning about my standards here: https://ireadlabelsforyou.com/preservatives-your-superpower-to-read-labels/ And yes, I agree with you that benzyl alcohol is far from the worst preservatives. I call it a middle of the road preservative. In my opinion, no shampoo or conditioner can either stop hair loss or promote hair growth. They are rinse-off products, after all. Could you send me a link to the federal court ruling you mentioned? While searching for it, I found that on February 20, 2018 a class action lawsuit against Monat was filed and you can read it here:
      https://45ijagbx6du4albwj3e23cj1-wpengine.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/monat-class-action-lawsuit.pdf I genuinely believe that you should figure some other way to make a living. There are a lot of other direct marketing companies that you can partner with. ~Irina

    • Jen

      Hi Leah.
      I am a market partner of Monat. You give some great points about Monat. 🙂
      I personally love the products and have had great success with them.
      Jen

  33. Cheri

    Irina, I agree that shampoos and conditioners seem very unlikely to grow new hair. But I have found something that has made a big difference in my hair. I started taking Great Lakes Collagen Hydrolysate for my bones and found that a bonus is that my hair is growing very fast with new growth sprouting all over my head as well as my nails are growing much faster as well. While my bone health is still my biggest concern, having some new hair growth is a true bonus. Obviously feeding from the inside makes a difference.

  34. Jen

    Hello.
    My name is Jen and I am a market partner of Monat. I have been a hairstylist for almost 20 years. I am an 18 month long user of Monat and the Revive Shampoo. The shampoo has given me hair growth (noticed when a co-worker did my hair about 2.5 months after using the product—and she is NOT a Monat user or believer). The products give me such volume—-unlike anything else I have ever used before. Everyone wants to trash Monat. Fine, everyone is entitled to their own opinion. However, have you ever really looked at other shampoos? Keep in mind, I have not used off the shelf pharmacy shampoos in over 20 years. Also, many “professional” brands are now being sold off the shelf in the pharmacy (and some are not the real thing). So, no matter what you are using, be aware. Read labels. Be very cautious if you see your Biolage, Kenra, Sebastian, Redken, or other professional product, somewhere being sold other than a reputable salon. Sometimes that isn’t what it seems.
    You also mentioned the expense of Monat. I have had my conditioner of almost an entire year and I wash my hair almost everyday. In 18 months, I am only on my 4th bottle of shampoo. The shampoo is so concentrated that very little is needed. I was never, before Monat, able to use conditioner in my hair. My hair is so fine that any conditioner would flatten my hair and I had to work hard at making it look full.
    That is my experience. I use the products in the salon too because I love the way they perform and make the hair feel.
    Thank you for your time and I hope you respect my opinion as I have respected yours.
    Cheers,
    Jen

  35. Jill

    I had recently a similar experience to a few previous readers.

    Three women in my family are Monat MPs so obviously I tried the product. I started off with Revive Shampoo and conditioner. Initially, I liked it a lot. My hair felt nice after and did seem to have some additional volume to it.

    After several months (I was into my 2nd bottle; wash every other day or so) my scalp began to itch intensely. I’ve never had dry/itchy scalp or dandruff in my life. I developed a small sore on my hairline near my part. When I would scratch my scalp, product built up under my nails. Ew!!! After several days of this not going away, I stopped using the shampoo and went back to an old shampoo I had. The itching stopped.

    I decided to give Monat a second chance and ordered the Smoothing shampoo instead of Revive. This didn’t make my scalp itch as much as the Revive, but it still itched to the point where I stopped using it and went back to my old shampoo. I used my old shampoo for 2 weeks and my scalp felt like normal. I didn’t have the volume like I did with Monat, but at least my scalp wasn’t itching and sore.

    Not to give up, one of my family member MPs gave me the junior line to try– it’s approved for child use, so it must be gentle, right? I just finished my second day of use and my scalp itched just as badly as it did when I used the Revive shampoo! I found a small sore on my hairline again, near my part. I will not be using ANY Monat shampoo again. I admit I am bummed because I really wanted to like the stuff.

    I have no idea what’s causing the itching (I’ve tried THREE Monat shampoos now). I’m glad I did not have severe sores and hair loss like some people experience, but it’s enough for me to discontinue use. My family members do not seem to have issues with it, just me. I’d like to know if/what allergen it is so I don’t buy a shampoo with the ingredient in it.

    • Irina Webb

      Hi, Jill: thank you for sharing your experience. It must be not easy to go against what your family believes in. ~Irina

      • Jen

        Monat isn’t for everyone. Definitely stop using it.
        My husband developed an allergic about 8 months ago. He stopped using Monat and other hygiene products. The allergy didn’t go away, even after two weeks of no Monat. He has an appointment with the allergist soon. He started using the Monat again. I developed allergies in my late 30s. We can develop allergies to all kinds of things…using a product or eating something one week and be allergic to it a month later.

  36. Jillian

    I work with 2 women that sell Monet out of the salon, my boss doesn’t believe in the products and wants them to stop. We have a few clients including the manicurist and myself that are experiencing hair loss. She is upset cause this is going on in her salon. I feel the representatives are either brainwashed cause they prompted with come backs when the product is challenged or the money is so good they are willing to lie about it. I have disconnected use and hopefully my hair starts to grow back.

  37. Kerri Gomez

    So I used Monat for a few months and my hair grew super fast and it felt and looked amazing, so I signed up to sell it and so did my sister. Once we got our hands on some bottles and started looking up the ingredients because we are picky about chemicals we use, my sister said the main ingredient is formaldehyde, do you know if this is true? Also Dr. Jennifer Daniels says you can use Fo-ti and small willow root for thinning hair and in about 3 weeks you will see a difference.

  38. Louise Ann

    Most shampoos out there are junk. My personal experience with Monat was me trying to be supportive of a a cousin who’s only goal was to sell this chemical laden product. So I purchased it for my already full and healthy hair, but here we go, my review. The Revive and Renew all smelled like cheap heavy, heavy perfume that lead to constant headaches. At first my hair was shiny (a few days) and appeared lengthy but my soft wavy hair quickly became coarse and very dry. I had breakouts all on my scalp and and neck and my hormones were out of wack for the 3 months I used this shampoo. I tried the Peppermint smelling one since I could handle the scent a little better and felt like my skin on my hands were stripped, scalp itchy, dry and headaches. I have a healthy diet and choose very clean skincare, trying Monat was a breach of the normal. This was a year ago and there was nowhere on the internet that supported any adverse reactions, which I thought was weird since it is obviously cheap garbage with a fancy price tag. The Monat sellers know the in’s and out’s of this ” Wonder Product,” but they know zilch about health except by other means of companies just like theirs ” Some natural ingredients + cheap crappy ingredients = The new acceptable mainstream natural. Sorry no, but I am sure they have enough people buying this junk. Thanks for the post for the Mary Kay of Shampoo.

  39. Nancy

    Thank you for this review Irina. I wish I had seen it prior to my using Monat. A close friend started selling it so I tried some samples. I did not need any “help” for my virgin hair, I only used it to support her. My hair was in great condition, never colored, bleached, treated, nothing, I rarely even used a blow dryer on it! I used Revive Shampoo and Restore Leave-In Conditioner (was instructed to rinse it out) for ONE WEEK. First I developed a rash so I stopped immediately, then I got chemical burns, breakage, thinning and bald spots. This was NOT an allergic reaction. I have had allergic reactions to topical products over the years and not one made my hair break off or fall out. This was not caused by any medication or medical conditions, as confirmed by my doctors and blood work coincidentally done four days prior to its use. It was the products, the only change I had made. Here I am six months after stopping Monat and my hair is still falling out. Saw my endocrinologist today and my thyroid levels are still great, nothing else is causing this. Monat came out with a report last week about how they were tested and proven to be hypoallergenic and non-irritating, to me this just proves the fact that their products contain harmful ingredients causing damage to so many people and they can no longer say you just had an allergic reaction to it. Nine class action lawsuits against them should tell you something about the safety of their products, that’s for sure!

    • Irina Webb

      Thank you so much, Nancy, for sharing your experience. I am so sorry to hear about your hair loss. What shampoo/conditioner do you use now? ~Irina

      • Nancy

        Thanks Irina! I am still searching for a decent product to help my scalp/hair recover. So far, I like Hair Food (the sulfate free and gluten free one).

  40. Jaime

    You should really investigate better before writing reviews. First of all, if you haven’t seen a $30 bottle of shampoo, you aren’t qualified to review high end products. I have been selling products upwards of $100 per bottles for 18 years. Monat is superior, concentrated and well worth the price. Especially considering a bottle lasts generally 4 mos. Monat was passed by the EU with no formula changes, so if you had done proper research you could know for certain the percentage of benzyl alcohol is under 1%. Our fragrances are natural, and we use no petrols, in addition to a list of other ingredients Monat does not use in their dedicated facilities. I could tear this article to pieces. Your review is opinion only-you have done no research on Monat the company. They take so many steps like using purified water, they do not boil their products to preserve potency, they source sustainably and are a very ethical, conscientious company.

    • Irina Webb

      Hi, Jaime: I sense that you are very angry and frustrated. I know you are NOT looking for advice. All I can hope for is one day you will wake from the spell of Monat and align yourself with a direct marketing business that is less controversial and does not have numerous lawsuits and BBB complaints. You can make money and feel good about it. ~Irina

  41. Cheri

    My goodness. My hairdresser who is an MP has said she has had more than one person who had allergic reactions to this product and told them immediately to stop using the products. This is obviously not for everyone and people should be alerted to that possibility. The good news is that my scalp has finally started healing and I am beginning to see some new growth after many months after stopping Monat. Quit yelling at us.

  42. PcDownload

    Having read this I thought it was really enlightening. I appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this article together.

    I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and
    posting comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.